An old classic explore with the factual history courtesy of HugieD and note there are no Witch links to this location whatsoever as stated by others.
Rachel and I went to explore the manor quite some time ago now; features included an ornamental pond, tunnels, tennis court and a pond in the back; we also managed to find the well that was near the pond.
The original house Manor was a stone mansion built on a wooded hill. This was then nearly all rebuilt circa 1819. A spring near to the house was said to possess medicinal and healing powers.
In 1842, a local monied family, the Welby’s, took over and between 1879 and 1884 Sir William Welby-Gregory rebuilt the house based on the designs of architect Sir Arthur Blomfield in a Tudor style.
The house, like so many around this time, was ravaged by fire in 1906. Dozens of wagons, traps and other horse-drawn vehicles were chartered in the nearby market town as spectators rushed to watch the blaze. Firemen climbed ladders and stripped away roof tiles for their hose jets and drew water from fishponds 300 metres away. Fire brigades from surrounding towns also turned out and as a result, much of the manor was saved as the fire was contained to the upper floors. However, the flames and water caused estimated damage of £30,000 to fabric and furniture (around £3.1 million in today’s money). The fire began in the chapel and was blamed on an overheating flue. It was discovered by a housemaid while the manor’s lord and lady were in church. Friends and villagers acted fast and helped to remove valuable paintings and furniture.
The blaze only strengthened the family’s resolve and they rebuild it and restored it to its former glory. However, like so many stately homes of this the area, the upkeep of the manor became too much and in 1938 it was demolished and replaced by the present house, designed by Peter Foster and Marshal Sissons. In 1965 only the filled-in cellar of the hall remained. Today, only a small wing of the 17th-century house survives. They were the north-west wing of the house.
These lower-slung buildings, including a game room, gun room and a boot room, were possibly retained for potential future use that never materialized and now they lay9 abandoned on the edge of the former manor’s rural estate.